The Promises of Christ

In the Last Supper Discourse of St. John”s Gospel, which we’re reading at this point in the Easter season,
Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not let your hearts be troubled.
You have faith in God; have faith also in me.
In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.
If there were not,
would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?
And if I go and prepare a place for you,
I will come back again and take you to myself,
so that where I am you also may be.
Where I am going you know the way.”
Thomas said to him,
“Master, we do not know where you are going;
how can we know the way?”
Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus promises his disciples over and over that he will stay with them. “Do not let your hearts be troubled,” he says to them.

Though he speaks to his disciples in the supper room the night before he dies, he speaks as the Risen Lord, which means his presence extends, not just to the moment, but to time and space far beyond this. Those who believe in him will follow him into another realm where he prepares a place for them. “You have faith in God, have faith also in me. In my father’s house there are many dwelling places.”

From his father’s house, he promises to return. “I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be.”

The Easter season is filled with the promises of Christ, all of them summarized in the Mass we celebrate. We remember the Christ of the supper room, but he is the Risen Christ. He cares for us now, but he prepares a place for us then. And he will come to take us to himself, to his Father’s house, and we will dwell there forever.

2 Comments

Filed under Religion

2 responses to “The Promises of Christ

  1. Gail Smyder

    What would we do without His promises and our remembrance through the Mass. Something I read recently and was so powerful and brings this all together was “Remembrance is also an act of presence”.
    I found all your last blogs that I had missed. I love the pic of you with Pope John Xlll. No wonder your mom carried it everywhere. Now at last I can leave a reply.
    We loved your presence with us. Not so long for the next visit I hope.
    Keep in touch.
    Gail

  2. Hi Gail. Smyder , Your a good bunch you Americans you know.

Leave a Reply

