St. Paul of the Cross

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A saint’s work is never done because, like Jesus Christ, the saints reach beyond their time and place.  They’re agents of God’s plan. Their work is not finished at their death– our belief in the communion of saints reminds us–and even in old age they saw something yet to do.

They never say “The work is done,” and neither should we.

I’m reminded of a poem called “What then?” by W.B. Yeats; which he wrote as an old man at the end of a successful career filled with literary honors, financial rewards and a host of friends. You would think he’d sit down and enjoy it all, but listen to him as he hears the challenge of more to do:

‘The work is done,’ grown old he thought,
‘According to my boyish plan;
Let the fools rage, I swerved in naught,
Something to perfection brought’;
But louder sang that ghost,’What then?’

I’m sure St. Paul of the Cross, the founder of my community, the Passionists, is saying something like that from his place in heaven where he guides us still.

May the priest Saint Paul, whose only love was the Cross,

obtain for us your grace, O Lord,

so  that, urged on more strongly by his example,

we may each embrace our own cross with courage.

Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,

who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

6 thoughts on “St. Paul of the Cross

  1. Gloria

    Dear Fr. Victor, Because of St. Paul of the Cross, you and Fr. Xavier and Fr. Paul have been part of our lives. Thanks be to God! Gloria & Ted

  2. Berta Hernandez

    St Paul of the Cross is turning out to be my patron Saint. Thanks to him and the Passionists I found our Lord Jesus four years ago. Now I’m a lay Passionist and I’m guided by the teachings of St Paul of the Cross and the inspiration of all Passionists I have met in the past four years of my spiritual growth. I am forever grateful to God for putting the Passionists in my path!
    Thank you to all my Passionist friends and the love of Christ crucified that you bring to us each and everyday. I love all of you with all my heart!

  3. Isabel Nepomuceno

    St.(Pope) John Paul 11 said, “All packed and ready to go.” I have been trying to visualize what’s inside his “suitcase” that I may follow whatever they are. Thanks for your reflection. The saints’ works are never done. We are not to forget our communion with saints..

Leave a Reply

