What Do You Do With Gold Coins?

Often when I find myself thanking God for all he has given me in this life: reasonably good health, such wonderful people to love and be loved by, such graces, such joys, his very presence, the gifts of his Holy Spirit, I find myself asking like so many, “What can I do to repay you for your love? How can I serve you? What do you want me to do with these gifts?”.

Today’s Gospel reading at Mass from Luke prompts me to ask these questions once again.

“A nobleman went off to a distant country

to obtain the kingship for himself and then to return.

He called ten of his servants and gave them ten gold coins

and told them, ‘Engage in trade with these until I return.’

The golden coins given to me by the Master, priceless gifts, consecrated hosts from a paten that come into my hands, golden seeds of wheat to be planted in a field– how can I share them? How do I begin?

I guess I must begin in humility, in gratitude, swept by praise to his Glory.

Psalm 150 ends the Book of Psalms appropriately with a trumpet blast, accompanied by the joyful noise of lyre, harp, strings, pipe, cymbals, wild dance and loud, loud praises to the Lord. Perhaps that is the best way to invest those golden coins of his, telling the world of his boundless Love and the joy that it brings, joining with the hosts, the elders, winged creatures, and countless saints.

Day and night, with our eyes on the One who sits on the throne, let us not stop exclaiming:

“Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God almighty,

Who was and Who is and Who is to come.” (RV 4:8)

 

 

Orlando M Hernández

1 Comment

Filed under Passionists, Religion, spirituality

One response to “What Do You Do With Gold Coins?

  1. Gail Smyder

    Awesome thoughts

Leave a Reply

