Are You the One?

         In Wednesday’s Gospel reading two disciples are sent by John the Baptist to ask Jesus, “Are you the one that is to come, or should we look for another?”

     Jesus tells them, ” Go and tell John what you have seen and heard : the blind regain their sight, the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, the poor have the good news proclaimed to them. And blessed is the one who takes no offense at me.”

     Perhaps the Baptist was a little concerned that Jesus was not enough like him, not strict enough, judgmental enough, warning sinners to change their ways, or else! Instead, the Lord was healing people, forgiving them, and giving them the Good News of salvation.

     People ask me, even after nine years since my conversion, ” Do you still believe? Why? Why Christianity? “

     I have great respect for the other great religions: Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, and the tribal spiritual beliefs of so many other cultures. I humbly think that my Lord reveals Himself to them, in His own way, with His own plan. He is in charge.

     But in my own life, as far as I am concerned, He is the One. Jesus came to me personally. He claimed me. He took me. He healed me. He taught me. He saved me. And He comes again and again.

     I am indeed poor in spirit. He patiently comes repeatedly to set me straight each time I seem to misplace the treasure He has given me, the Good News of His Love. And when the vision of my faith begins to become a little cloudy, when I feel myself hobbling on my way to Him, when my spiritual senses become numbed by the leprosy of indifference or doubt, when I begin to lose the ability to hear Him, when the fear of eternal death begins to creep within my soul, He comes like a gentle Doctor, and patiently puts me back together again and again. He whispers His good news:” I love you. I live in you. “

     So I hope my dear secular friends take no offense at me or at my Lord. We love them. I’m fine where I am, with my Christ, the one who is and who is to come.

Orlando Hernández

Leave a comment

Filed under Religion

Leave a Reply

